Brain Teasers

Wording is everything.  Yesterday I reviewed with my students the steps needed to solve multistep math problems.  They complained, its too much work.  You are being so mean.  Why are you making us work so hard?  Today, we did similar problems, but I called them brain teasers.  Funny, they asked if they could work toward extra reading time, a raffle ticket or another reward.  Just using different vocabulary has changed my students attitude toward multistep math problems from we hate them to can we do more of them.  As a teacher I learn just as much from my students as they learn from me.

5 thoughts on “Brain Teasers

Leave a Reply

