Knots

This morning as I was talking to another teacher and  she was thinking about what her  grandmother had taught her.  That conversation made me remember when my grandmother tried to teach me to crochet.  She was determined to teach me, in spite of the fact that I was left handed and she was right handed.  She insisted that I could crochet right handed.  I did try, many times, all that happened was a lot of knots.  I was and am very left handed.  My grandmother told me that my uncle and aunt were both left handed and when they went to school the nuns made sure they used only their right hand.  She was disappointed that the practice of changing left handed people into right handed people had stopped.  Over the next year or two my grandmother never gave up  trying to get me to crochet.  Each and every time it ended with me making knots and my grandmother throwing up her hands in frustration.  Unfortunately, grandma became ill and went to a better place and I still could not crochet.  Fast forward about 30 years and I was at a craft store walking down the yarn aisle, low and behold a book that could teach me a lefty to crochet.  After many trials and many errors I was able to crochet.  Scarves, hats, and blankets.  Grandma would be proud that I never gave up

One thought on “Knots

Leave a Reply

