Books that touch the heart

We just started the writing unit on realistic fiction.  So I read one of my favorite books, Thank You, Mr. Falker  by Patricia Polaccco to the class.  Each time I read this book I get choked up at the end about how someone could go until 5th grade without reading and then becoming one of the best (yes, my opinion) children’s book authors.  It is wonderful how she overcame a learning issue and went on to do great things.  This book touched many of my students hearts.  It also made them see the difference between just telling something and making it a story.  If you have never read the book, read it, it is very inspirational.

2 thoughts on “Books that touch the heart

Leave a Reply

