Clean Up week vs. Spring Break

When I was in grade school a very long time ago our break was called “clean up week”, not spring break. I remember asking my mom why it was called that and she said that it was because kids could help their parents get ready for summer. I was okay with her answer. Now, as I look at the calendar, I realize that spring break should be called clean up week. I have already made a list of things that need to be cleaned up, repaired, put away or put up. After looking at my list I realize I could use a few other people to help with all of these little and sometimes big chores. Too bad my boys have grown up and moved away. On the other hand maybe I should just plan to get away on spring break and just forget all about clean up week.

Leave a Reply

